Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

About Us > Old Lyonian Association > A message from the OLA President

A message from the OLA President

Including a list of former Presidents and Vice Presidents of the OLA
Paul Matarewicz (current OLA President)
Paul Matarewicz (current OLA President)

Of course if anyone had said there would be such a thing as a world wide web when I was leaving school in 1976, we’d have laughed. The days of remembering someone’s phone number and sending out change of address cards are long gone, but ironically it still takes real effort to keep up a network. However this medium is the simple way in which you can stay in touch with, meet, and of course catch up with all your fellow Old Lyonians. Please enjoy and take advantage of it!

In taking over from my predecessor Joe Kerridge, I am trying to fill illustrious boots. Joe occupied the post for 6 years, and together with the assistance of Michelle Gascoine and the of course the School, in particular the Head, Katherine Haynes, the Association has taken major steps forward, and, most importantly, has strengthened the bonds with John Lyon School. This is critical for our future, as the Association must exist for all pupils, whether they are still at school, left school sixty years ago, or only last year.

Michelle’s place has now been taken by Suzannah Chirnside, who many of you will have already heard from. Please support her in her efforts to build and maintain our contact base, and by supporting our and the School’s events.

Thanks to the School, the Association now has, amongst other things, unrivalled sporting facilities at Sudbury, football pitches that 40 years ago were not even seen at Wembley,  and a venue for our annual dinner which is not only excellent, but which allows Old Boys to revisit the haunts of their youth, and to marvel at the facilities now available. The networking and reunion opportunities that are available are substantial.

I am proud to be your new President, and I look forward to leading the Association through the next few years.

Paul Matarewicz


Old Lyonian Association

Presidents of the OLA

1902 - 1909  J. Parkhouse
1909 - 1925  F. Greenhill
1925 - 1928  F. Smith
1928 - 1929  A. W. Gurney
1929 - 1937  E. W. Kay
1937 - 1948  R. T. Bartley
1948 - 1951  F. Perrin
1951 - 1954  H. A. Parker
1954 - 1957  F. E. Woodbridge
1957 - 1960  D. S. Woodbridge
1960 - 1963  J. A. Massey
1963 - 1966  A. R. McP. Heard
1966 - 1969  L. G. Kitton
1969 - 1970  G. A. Carden-Noad  
1970 - 1972  J. E. K. Clarke
1972 - 1973  C. C. Campbell
1973 - 1976  G. C. Woodbridge
1976 - 1979  J. R. Potts
1979 - 1983  J. D. Lancashire
1983 - 1985  G. G. Marshall
1985 - 1988  W. J. King
1988 - 1992  B. A. R. Smith CBE
1992 - 1996  R. J. Baron 
1996 - 1998  I. McAulay
1998 - 2003  C. M. Nunn
2004 - 2008  M. J. Christelow
2008 - 2011   P. R. Harrison
2011 - 2017  J. V. Kerridge
2017 - present P. Matarewicz

Vice Presidents of the OLA

The title of OLA Vice President is awarded for long service to the Association.  Generally, one person is selected per year, at the discretion of the OL Council, and this person can be an Old Lyonian, past or present staff member or School Governor.

The present OLA VP's are:

Malcolm Ames

John Blake

Andrew Cameron

James Caldecourt

Mike Christelow

John Davies

Ian Dennison

Prof. Michael Edwards - Former Chairman of School Governors

Andrew Forman

Alistair Fraser

Peter Freund

Michelle Gascoine (Honorary OL)

Ben Gill

Stephen Hallam

Rick Harragin

Paul Harrison

Brian Holgate - Former Master

Dr Owain Arwel Hughes - Former Chairman of School Governors

Peter Jenkins

John Kerley

Joe Kerridge

Geoff Lancashire

Chris Libell

Ian Macaulay

John Marsden

Peter Marsden

Andy Marsden-Jones

Douglas Milsom

Paul Montague

Colin & Philippa Nunn Husband & Wife Team (Philippa being an Honorary OL)

Guy Nyirendra

John Orchard

Keith Palmer

Ian Parker  - Master, The John Lyon School

Stan Peacock

Roger Pike

Andrew Reed

Prof. David Reeves

Les Riches

David Rimmer - Former Deputy Head

Micky Sillett

Jolyon Sloggett

Mike Smith

John Soughton

John Thomson

Charlie Tizard

Mike Triesman

Roger Vessey

Jeremy Watkiss

Hugh Wikner

John Williams

John Wilson

Keith Wilson

Tim Wright OL - Former Headmaster

Similar stories

O. A. Le Beau (Head 1926 - 1951)

Full list of Headteachers since 1879 More...

Written by Michael Burrell (OL), "John Lyon's Dream" is the only authorised history of John Lyon School to have been wri… More...

Local OL, Michael Treisman (1963 – 1970), presents the results of his investigations into some architectural mysteries s… More...

Have your say

This website is powered by